A Cairenegirl's Blog

April 2, 2010

Does having two boys mean you’re always the odd man out?

Filed under: Life,Parenting — CaireneGirl @ 6:47 pm

Does having two boys mean you’re always the odd man out?

Between monopoly, PS3, Golf, Tennis and Soccer.

I have to scream- help!

I have to admit, I am the worst Monopoly player ever. I never knew that someone could suck at a monopoly as much as I do. I have really created new standards for how fast someone can lose!!!
I lose in 30 seconds tops. I don’t know why. I used to love board games.
My husband and my sons are far better players. When I lose, which is every single time, I stick around to be the bank, sometimes I make them snacks. Then, I get bored and leave them because their game drags on for hours!!!

In sports: It’s always about what game is on? Or did you check out the latest PS3 game?
I know I’m a girly girl; I love pink and shopping and manicures.
But that doesn’t mean that I don’t want to be included.

As much as I want to tag along and enjoy, the truth is I don’t. It’s not that I’m anti-social or that I don’t like spending time with my family; it’s just I feel like I’m in a man’s world.

I like watching sports – just maybe not every night!

PS3 is fun, I get it but the killing and the blood really bother me.

Even when it comes to fast food, I am a bore- my husband and the boys love KFC, Burger King, and Pizza and I’m always calorie counting!!! They seem to eat it and digest it entirely- but if I splurge and eat with them- it goes straight to my thighs and I need two weeks to make that burger vanish!!!

I like to work out, do aerobics but not competitively. So I don’t really comprehend why it always has to be about who won? And the testosterone of “Oh! I totally crushed him!!! Etc…” I comfort the defeated, I praise the winner, and I tell them life isn’t about winning and losing, it’s about doing your best. “Mom you’re so lame”.

When it comes to going out to the movies, or renting a movie at home, the choice is usually “Action movies”. Don’t get me wrong I thoroughly enjoyed Avatar, Terminator Salvation, G.I. Joe and Star Trek. Really, really I did, it’s just that I wish we could go to the girly stuff too. My husband, bless his soul, took me to see the Blind Side and Up in the Air, so I truly don’t have any reason to complain.

It just seems now that they (my sons 13 and 10) are growing up, and our interests are growing apart.

Does every mother of boys go through this? Or is it just me? Where is the common ground for boys and moms?

2 Comments »

  1. Your post hits me hard. I have two boys, younger than yours, and I had ALWAYS wanted a girl. I am so afraid of feeling the way you described. Right now at 2 and 4, I can relate. Sure I wish there were a few tea parties mixed in with the race cars, but I don’t yet feel left out. I know however, someday I will be off by myself getting a pedicure and my husband and boys will be off bonding at a stupid baseball game. Tears…. 😦

    Comment by rachel — April 19, 2010 @ 10:56 pm | Reply

    • I didn’t mean for it to be so harsh. I really wanted a girl too, when my boys were little. My husband thought two children were enough especially with the prices of education. Since he comes from a family of two boys, it made sense to him too. Also, I wasn’t sure that I had enough energy to go for a third, just for the sake that it might be a girl. Both my best-friends had third’s, that ended up being boys, and bless them they are great, lovely healthy kids, but just a lot more wrestling and fighting is now a part of their homes. Now, it seems ridiculous to have a third, my older son tells me: “Mom that means I’ll be done with college before he/she starts school?”. Not exactly, but close enough. Maybe what I’m going through is the normal transition that all mothers have, even those who have girls, from being so dependent on us when they are little, to now where they are pretty much self sufficient. Chin up and my advice to anyone enjoy them when they are young, they grow up so fast.

      Comment by cairenegirl — April 20, 2010 @ 12:52 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

